On the slopes

April the 5th was our first day skiing. At first I was scared about skiing because I have not skied for a long time, but thankfully I picked it up quickly and soon I was trying off pieste runs with my Dad. A couple of times I crossed my skis over and fell over also on the off piested runs big chunks of snow would trip me over as well.

The first day skiing (with bright colors)

When we took the Loveland Pass we had an opportunity to see the snow and beautiful surroundings.  We also saw signs buried in the snow and a sign someone had written in the snow using their footprints for Peace in Syria. The magnificent rock features caught my eye and now I can’t get the craggy cliffs out of my mind.

A sign buried in snow

At 2:00 we stopped so we could go home to buy Mummy cake for her birthday. My sister put the candles in a love heart shape she tried to have 43 because our mum is turning 43 but the cake wasn’t big enough. After eating dinner we watched Doctor Dolittle 2. That night I was very sick with Altitude Sickness and Jet-lag, I through up and I had a spitting headache which I couldn’t get rid of.

Mum blowing out the candles

On the second day of skiing we went on some off pieste runs.  My favorite run was a long run through the trees that ended up at the chair lift that we started from. We also explored some more and went on different chair lifts.  On our way down we found a new chair lift which went above the tree line; which I think is cool.  I had to keep on drinking a lot of water because I could get very dehydrated which can contribute to altitude sickness and I don’t want that again! Also we all got badly wind burnt and I had to put on so much cream that my face was wet.  

Me and Dad

My Mum and my sister and I are reading The Chronicles of Narnia, and we have just finished the Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe and now we are reading the Horse and his Boy. 

When my mum was sleeping we went of for a walk and guess what we saw?  First of all we saw a Squirrel on a stump but the coolest animal we saw was a coyote with orangey hazelnut color with a white belly.  I wasn’t looking that much because I was making snow balls and throwing them at lager piles of snow. Later we decided that the coyote was actually a fox. 

The fox and the squirrel

The next day when we were skiing it was very icy.  That day I was very tired and on the second or third run of the day I fell over and I couldn’t be more unhappy for the rest of the day.  So the last run I gave up all my energy on that run to get down safely I managed but by the time I was down I had run out of energy.  Before that I accidentally went on a double black diamond and I had snow ploughed though a tough narrow part of the run I was gasping for breath after that run!

Me and Evie (my sister) explored when it was snowing and we made a cubby and fell into a frozen stream. My Dad came looking for us and we had to go inside before we got frostbite. It took a long time to warm up.

I’m having snowboarding Lessons I was at level 5-6.  My mum tried to say that I’m level 4-5 because she wanted me to go over what I had already learnt.  She did not want me speeding down Black (Diamonds) although she tried her best the last run I did was a Black (Diamonds.)   I had a group lesson and there was only me so it was a one on one lesson.  For lunch I had chicken fingers with doctor pepper!

My next lesson I got to do some jumps in the freestyle park so I got to do the box, which is a jump that you ride over. After trying some black runs, I only did some blue runs because I was more comfortable with them.  Only at the end of my lesson I tried a black. For lunch I had a hot dog and I had Gatorade.

My mum and dad persuaded me to have skiing lassons because they wanted  me to bring my technique up to scratch. I felt as if my coach was making a new tipe of skiing because his way of jumping and skiing was different to others skiers.  But I had a lot of fun going in and out between the trees and doing jumps.

The day after that I was snowboarding with my Mum and Dad so we went all over the mountain, but some runs my mum would not do because she was too scared.  Some of the runs I chose.  By the way I love jumps plus I’m on the board so it makes all the jumps cooler then it would have been on skis.   

A selfie on the slopes

2 thoughts on “On the slopes

  1. What a fabulous slope picture!
    I’m glad to see you have a great time with your family Ed :))

    Hope you enjoy America travelling and upload your cherish memories~

    Like

Leave a comment